332 – Your world is mine for the reading

If you were a book, you would be my favorite
Caressing you in the palms of my hands as I turn the pages
Breathing the scent of you as I flip the pages through
I would read you from beginning to end
And each time I reread you
I would always find something new

I would put sticky notes in between chapters
Highlight the parts I liked the best
Keep you in bed with me in these warm sheets
Upon restless nights for you I would reach
And within the pages of your story

I could escape and find sleep

Upon your cover, you would never find dust
As I would handle you gently every day
Never be careless or treat you bad
You would be my greatest obsession
And I would read you over and over again
As if you were the only book I ever had

I would tell all my friends and family about it
About this great novel I found
How I could not put you down until I was through
As I trace every line and syllable with my eyes
My heart transforms into burning hot lava
As I melt into the pages of you

33 thoughts on “332 – Your world is mine for the reading

  1. Yes a clever poem – and it works well! Surprised by the sound of the Black Veil Brides – they are usually a lot heavier than that aren’t they?…”Knives and Pens” etc, and Fallen Angels (one I thought of posting given my themes) – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9mJwJLeVcM. Anyway, no need now! Well maybe later….

    This song you chose is actually, well, nice. A bit like my MCR choices I suppose…:)

    • Yes John, BVB are usually quite a bit heavier. I love Andy’s voice and when I heard this track play I was surprised. I guess everyone has a romantic soft side to them πŸ™‚ Still enjoy their fast tracks though. They recently came out with some new stuff – pretty fantastic, you should check those out too when you have the chance.

      Currently listening to: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0EQlIzPowM

  2. This is a brilliant poem – comparing a someone you love to a book, I love that idea! πŸ™‚ ‘As I melt into the pages of you’ really good way to end this! And no, you can’t have dust – a dusty lover is always a disaster!! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you Suzy πŸ™‚

      Yes, a dusty lover would mean someone is being neglected. And you can’t ever have that in friendships or relationships. I hope the dust never settles on anyone in my life.

  3. Very good poem, with a good construction, wording, flow and theme, not to mention the whole idea of the book/lover metaphor. Interesting music video too, not heard the song or band before.

    • Thank you. This piece took a bit longer to write, but I figured I had edited it to death until it was to my liking. Unless you can find any words missing in here too? πŸ˜‰

      I don’t believe the band is that popular, but I guess that’s why I like them so much.

  4. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Ajaytao 2010

    • Hello. Actually, yes I have thought about it. But I want to have this 365 blog project as a weaving of words, music, and pictures. So if my photos detract from my words for some, then that is okay. This is how I choose to express myself and I prefer to do it in this fashion. Self-expression is what these blogs are about right? πŸ™‚

And the wind whispers...

