315 ~ Staying healthy is important

So I’ve been meaning to make this post for awhile. For those of you who have juicers (I’m looking at you Leisa), or those who have a Vita-Mix (Justin), this is something I try to make and drink daily. The recipe below makes 3 servings. I usually drink one immediately and save 2 servings for me and Jp the next day. The recipe is a hybrid of the Dr. Oz Green Drink and the Reboot drink from the documentary Fat Sick & Nearly Dead.

green drink

  • 2 apples (I use red apples since they’re sweeter)
  • 3-4 leaves of kale (or substitute with a handful of spinach)
  • 3 Persian cucumbers (you can use one regular cucumber. Persian ones just taste better to me)
  • 3 sticks of chopped celery
  • 1/2 inch of ginger
  • 1 bunch parsley
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon

GD

You can add or subtract from the recipe above but the reason I make mine this way is so Jp can drink it. Girl is picky and I have to try to trick her into consuming some kind of vegetable besides bok choy.

FYI, you can make this in a regular blender but I don’t suggest it. I’ve tried before I bought my Vita-Mix and it just turned out an apple sauce like consistency 😦 I even tried using the Ninja, and it still failed to produce a drinkable substance.

If you have any recipes you enjoy and would like to share, leave me some in my comments 😀

*cheers*

♥ Britt

Oh, and this song is stuck in my head >_<

36 thoughts on “315 ~ Staying healthy is important

  1. My mum loved juicing all sorts! But I can’t stand it! Believe me, I’ve tried! Not keen on the flavours, but the main thing is all that raw juice causes wind in my stomach rapidly, which makes me feel slightly sick for hours!!! 🙂 I prefer it cooked – soup!! There must be something to the juicing thing though, because blending cooked parsnips into soup definitely had a double strength effect on my dry skin. We never really think much about the struggle our stomachs may have trying to break down and digest all the food we put in them!

    That video is ever so slightly – teeny weeny bit erotic – but I like it! And it’s on Vimeo – you found one! 😀

    • I think that happened to me at first, but then my body got used to it. I haven’t gotten sick ever since I started juicing/blending for the past year, so I guess that counts for something.

      YouTube was giving me issues with playing it, so I said screw it and went with Vimeo. Glad I found one! I guess it’s because her outfit was green, I immediately thought of the song, my brain works in strange ways >_<

  2. loving the greens lately too
    ~
    made an amazing spinach salad today
    with blueberries, sliced strawberries
    sliced apples, and roasted almonds
    ~
    mixture of olive oil & balsamic vinegar
    ~
    my 3 and a half year old
    even loves it

  3. That sounds delicious. Lately I’ve been making orange apple banana blueberry goat’s milk smoothies with bee pollen and flax oil and sometimes some almonds and sunflower seeds. I have yet to start getting veggies into the mix. They’re on my list of things to blend, though, some day. The ole Vitamix is seeing almost daily use here. Good stuff : )

      • Normally I’m of the opinion that milk products are for babies, and animal milk products especially for their respective baby animals, but I took home some expired (still fine, though) goat’s milk from the co-op for free and it tastes really good, so, into my stomach it goes.
        Yoghurt and cheese, too. Hard to give up, even in the interest of not feeding off an animal’s teats.
        Some day, maybe I’ll be all growed up and kick dairy entirely. I’m getting there.
        : )

  4. Hi! I found a very simple shake recipe from the book “How it all Vegan” by Sarah Kramer and thought I would share it with you.

    Banana Date Shake

    1 and a half cups of soy milk
    6 large dates pitted
    2 frozen bananas

    In a blender or food processor purée all the ingredients until thick and creamy. Just add extra milk if you prefer it less thick. Makes 2 servings, it probably works with regular milk if you don’t like soy milk. Cheers! 🙂

    • I fell asleep super early, but my terror of waking up at 3 am just restarted again today. Oh sleep, why do you do this to me? Ugh.

      What time is it over there for you and why are you up?!

      And that sounds delicious! But no soy milk for me – it messes with my hormones, or regular milk because I’m lactose. I use almond milk ^_^

      Thank you for sharing ♥

  5. Hi – sleep is a nightmare if you cannot get it in a timely way. I have been there as well – I learnt (and if this helps just use it, if not just forget it) that for me it was important to wake by about 8, even if I did not get up. And then not sleep during the day, not at all. And not go to bed early either. Hold out till midnight at the earliest. Then set up a relaxed rhythm ahead of sleeping, dim lights, no computer or tablet or phones – switch all that off an hour ahead.

    These days, usually I have had a dirnk – but that is no cure if you are having insomnia. You will find anxiety is creeping in….and you need to tackle that too….also tackle it during the day. And as the Buddhists say, beware of the monkeys! (thoughts racing at night that is)

  6. And health – sorry I am just an idiot sometimes….forgive me going twice! I have muesli in the mornings…that is my only health thing….it seems to keep me ok.

  7. Thanks for liking “I ENVY CATS” at OUR POETRY CORNER! I blog there and at BY THE MIGHTY MUMFORD. Could get the video clip to work on this computer (at work) but I do like Avril Lavigne. Does J.P. really drink that bright green stuff? Looks like a great nightlight color! 🙂

    • Aww, yea work likes to block Vimeo and YouTube ^_^ And yes! She does drink it. I’m trying to get her on the path of healthy eating 😀 And she trusts me, so she listens to my advice.

And the wind whispers...

