314 ~ When Wolves Roam

Some nights you keep me awake
Without even touching me
Thoughts of you seep into my skin
Leaving paw prints on my body

Like wolves baying at my heart
Shining bright like the moon
Sleep doesn’t come easy
And it won’t come soon

I look out my window
To see the sky turn to dusk
One day all the stars in the sky
Won’t protect you from us

And when morning comes
As the wolves retreat
I look to the side of me
Feeling incomplete

For when the howling stops
The only predator left to roam
Are memories that haunt the roads of my body
Patiently waiting for you to come home

The reason I hold on
Cause I need this hole gone
Funny you’re the broken one

When Wolves RoamBut I’m the only one who needed saving
Cause when you never see the light
It’s hard to know which one of us is caving

42 thoughts on “314 ~ When Wolves Roam

  1. I like how you use wolves to describe your memories and feelings in this 🙂 saw wolves out in British Columbia at a tourist place. They are amazing animals. Unfortunately they were fenced in and not roaming free which is sad for the wolves.

    • I’m trying to branch out. I think I’ve covered books, dragons, rain, comets, the sea… so today is wolves. They are amazing and very beautiful.

      Oh no 😦 That’s why I don’t like zoos and stuff because the animals look so depressed and it saddens me to see them caged.

      • Totally agree zoos are not good. Wish people would be content to see them wild in national geographic magazines.

  2. I loved this one, fairytale, especially how you started the poem and took it through to the last two stanzas… and yes, that parable of wolves you have used, how apt it is for the tearing need for love. 🙂 it’s a beautiful poem.

  3. I really love that poem – very elegant! 🙂 Got to keep the wolves from the door, memories or otherwise! And that song is just brilliant, not heard it before, which is always a bonus! I’ve turned my speakers up loud for that one – wonderful! 🙂

    Reading your poem reminded me I have a wolf and serpent theme story tucked away, a very, very short story! Not sure yet when it’s going up. Was reading a few other blogs a few days ago that had short stories with wolves somewhere in there, there’s definitely a wolf thing going round at the moment!

    I’ve listened to the song 5 times now, I’ll have to download that from You Tube, very inspirational! 😀

    • It’s hard to keep them away! At times I feel like one of those three little pigs, just hoping that my foundation doesn’t fold when the wolf comes huffing and puffing trying to find a way in >_<

      I'm glad I was able to share this song with you. It is enchanting and something I was listening to at work all day yesterday. Makes me happy to know that you found it inspirational.

      Uuu, I want to see that story! Short or not. I haven't seen any short stories, but I have a wolf Spirit Hood in my bedroom so I figured I'd give a wolf poem a go 😀

      • That music is definitely enchanting! I find songs I relate to a lot really help with ideas for writing, without stealing any of the lyrics of course! The music of various tracks I love often conveys more than the words to me. 🙂

        I knew there was something else I was going to mention – the hood you’re wearing! Wolf Spirit Hood? Are there a whole collection of those hoods with various names?

        • Spirit Hood is the brand. They have all kinds of faux fur animal hoods ^_^

          As I was telling John below, 10% of the sale goes to a non-profit animal conservation of the animal hood you buy. It’s a win-win.

  4. Yes this is indeed a fine poem, I agree. And it is so hard to write a straight lyric love poem. I just cannot do it, but you do find a way. The wolf pic made me laugh though (not the effect you were after I am sure – forgive my stupid/silly side). RIhanna – she has been to hell and back if anything we read is to be believed so I will concede the song to her….she looks beautiful of course here as elsewhere. As do you usually! But not my favourite song, and umbrella which I started out liking drove me nuts in the end when overplay turned it into elevator music….not her fault. But….I love her single Diamonds….anyway, this is your blog and I really want to say hi, somehow I missed yesterday…

    • Thank you John. I have yet to see you write a straight love poem. I guess it’s easier when I have a muse or someone that inspires me to do so. If I can’t write from the heart, I don’t think I’d be able to write an affective one at all. As I was telling Suzy the other day, it amazes me how some writer’s manage to just write. Perhaps I’ll get to that point one day where I won’t have to be inspired to write, but I’m not there yet.

      Rihanna is very beautiful and raw in this. It is my favorite from her so far and Mikky Ekko really adds to it. His voice reminds me of Ryan Tedder from One Republic, which I adore. Hmm, I really do not like that Umbrella song or Diamonds. Every time either songs come on the radio, I have to change the station :/

      This is a community blog of sorts ^_^ I like the conversations on here and prefer them over ‘likes’. And “hello” J 😀

      • Oh, and as for the picture, I’m not even sure what effect I was going for. It’s just a Wolf hood, and when you buy them, a proceed of the sale goes to a non-profit conservation for that animal. So far I have the Panda and the Wolf one. From their website:

        We believe in inspiring positive change, which is why we created the ProBlue label. When you purchase a SpiritHood with the PRO BLUE label, we donate 10% of net profits to a non-profit dedicated to the conservation of that particular animal.

      • Funny…I came to dislike Umbrella – the uh uh uh umbr- umbr ella thing just got on my nerves….in the end. But diamons in the sky – I do like that. More generally in your clip too, I love the way she moves….she is like the Halle Berry that should have been – Halle moves well, but she is in such crappy movies. That is a bit random. Actually that is really dumb. Sorry – I should remove it, but sometimes I like the thought trail to stay.

        Yes – a like to me is casual flick – a comment demands more – and gives more. Even if it is more of this silliness from me…cannot think straight today. Much love to you – 🙂

  5. Kazow! Those first 2 stanzas are just magnifique! Especially well-turned and unique phraseology, and the overall theme of pacing predator is awesome. Cute picture, too! Love the hat…:)

  6. nights in my opinion are the most difficult time to fight memories, worries and past loves. awesome song btw. heard it the other day for the first time.

  7. This is tight! Poetry is the life blood that flows through us and if you don’t use it you will have taking a big part of who you are!

  8. Pingback: 3 ~ Countdown | Fairytale Epidemic

And the wind whispers...

