296 ~ Diamond

If you’ll be the carbon
Then I’ll be the rough
The center of your longing
That will burn hot enough

Be strong not to melt
While I put you under pressure
But you are resilient
I didn’t expect any lesser

The magma of my insides
Will threaten to erupt
Forming the perfect diamond
That no one can corrupt

For the atoms of our love
Is too complex by design
To be engineered by any one else
But within our own minds

But you do not belong to me
You are not a possession
Merely a work of art
That objectifies my obsession

As I watch you shimmer from afar
Don’t forget to see
That your facets wouldn’t shine as bright
If it wasn’t for me

ā™„

With all these posts flying around WP in regards to Rihanna’s Diamond song and poems, I decided to give it a shot in the twisted way I know how. I do not enjoy listening to that song, so I shall present to you one of my all time favorites: Adair – the Diamond Ring.

Steal my breath, taint the air
Every bone in my body’s been broken

blueMy life is a jaw wired shut,
My voice is my curse and my shelter from the pain

31 thoughts on “296 ~ Diamond

  1. Is it weird that my first thought with that picture was that it was still to cold outside for that outfit. haha

  2. Ok I admit I like the Rihanna song, but this one is fun as well. And I love the poem…stunning open again. Such a good idea and match to the song!

    I am sorry about the RIhanna, but you know Iike some cheap stuff….including cheap diamonds….

  3. I really loved this poem! Let me tell you why, lol. One of my new beliefs is to look for a person who will challenge you and help you grow to be better. This poem embodies that spirit perfectly, the only thing is it should be reciprocal. After all, you shouldn’t have to do just all the work! Thanks for sharing Britt! šŸ™‚

    • Yes, I believe we should all find someone who will challenge us and help us to be the best we could of ourselves. Sometimes that person may not stay in our lives though, and I am okay with that, as long as they do not forget the lessons learned and who helped them shine so beautifully.

      It should be reciprocated but it is not expected. People are always drifting in and out of our lives. They help mold and change our mindset and views. It’s a wondrous thing šŸ™‚

  4. I must admit I’ve never heard that song before and I am only vaguely aware of who Rihanna even is! That being said I really enjoyed this poem. I like the way it progresses through the formation and also the elemental description! Lots of good imagery and a very good analogy!!

    • Is she not that popular in DC? She’s on the radio consistently here. It is a good song lyric wise, but the music never sat that well with me. I am not bashing anyone that enjoys it, but I’ve seen many posts on that song here so I just wanted to throw my own take into the mix. šŸ˜›

      • Well I’m sure she is popular everywhere its just that I dont listen to the radio, I rarely watch t.v., I dont read the newspaper or tabloid magazines. I’m not really up on the pop culture stuff so if I read other posts based on that song I doubt I would even know it unless they mentioned it as you did.

        • Ah, I see. I don’t read the newspaper or tabloids either. I don’t even own a TV still (I know, very strange). The only time I listen to the radio is on the way to work, and then it’s hard to avoid the radio when my co-workers are blasting the tunes away.

          • I think this is a good thing though, it means our minds are clear of all the rubbish that gets pumped into most people’s heads so we are better able to be creative and original!

  5. Well, the song is certainly loud! It’s funny I got the feeling it was going to be, and turned the sound level down just a little before clicking on the song! Mm… nothing like Rihanna! And I’m another who likes the occasional cheap song!! I nearly always go off cheap ones eventually though, and it’s not surprising really! šŸ™‚

    I love your Diamond poem! šŸ™‚ And I like this verse the most!
    ‘But you do not belong to me
    You are not a possession
    Merely a work of art
    That objectifies my obsession’

    That made me think of being a teenager with posters on the bedroom walls of favourite singers or actors! Merely a work of art! I know that’s not what your poem is a about, but just a random memory came to mind! šŸ˜€

    • Hahaha, you read my mind. Good thing you took the initiative to lower the volume šŸ˜›

      Thank you Suzy! And you’re right, it is reminiscent of that. Though in this case, this work of art is a diamond; this beautiful person that was a part of your life that you can only admire from a distance after all the rough times you have been through with them. And through all the struggles, that made them stronger and more vibrant šŸ™‚

  6. You sometimes tell me about how well I write, and your words also have a soothing elegance that shines radiantly in the life of each line and word! Your poems are very insightful, very moving, with such tender emotion, which makes them a true joy and such a delight to read. Your heart glows brightly in all you share…making you a shining treasure. God bless you my sister, and much love to you always! P.S. you have awesome talent!

    • How did I miss this comment? šŸ˜¦ Darn WP notifier fail.

      Thank you Wendell, always for you support and for believing in what I write and do. I draw inspiration from the light and love that shines in your heart since you have been truly blessed with the gift of eloquence. God bless you as well, and much love to you. ā™„

  7. I like the way you create the flow in verses and the ease of the rhythm. Really beautiful.
    You’re a FAIRY! ā¤ :')

And the wind whispers...

