282 ~ Return

You take a step forward
But cautiously look back
Trying to remember
What took you so off track

People say you’ll change
That could possibly be true
You may compromise your faith
Do things you shouldn’t do

Maybe you’ll forget how to smile
When the pain takes its hold
Transform into a statue
As your heart turns cold

But that is where you’ll find me
No matter how far you roam
I’ll take you underneath my wings
And guide you safely home

♥

For my bff Jp.

Don’t be afraid to be weak
Don’t be too proud to be strong

Sensual_by_YoshiXXJust look into your heart my friend
That will be the return to yourself
The return to innocence

Photo Credit: YoshiXX

36 thoughts on “282 ~ Return

    • Thanks GE. It’s for my best friend who I’ve dubbed my kid sister. She’s going to start dating and she’s scared. People keep telling her she’s going to change and she’s way more sensitive and impressionable than I am. But I have reassured her that even if she does change, I’ll always love her and I’ll be supporting her through all of this.

      • Hmm, did people mean change for the worst? That’s a silly thing to say to people starting out imo. Puts them in a defeatist attitude before they even start! I say just go out and have fun and damn the haters! Good thing she has you for moral support!

        • Yes, which is probably why she’s held off for so long. It is a silly thing to say to someone who’s already freaked out by the idea, but I keep trying to encourage her since she’s going to turn 24 soon. We’ll see how it pans out, but I told her that life is too short to be held back by fear of the unknown, but at least she won’t have to tread this journey alone 🙂

      • When you date, you will change. That is just how it is. It is how you change that is the key. And for someone who is sensitive and very impressionable–especially if they are hyper-sensitive–it can potentially be a very traumatic experience. That said, it can also be rewarding and build up a whole lot of living experience. The fact that she has someone there for her–i.e. you–is a good thing and can make all the difference at the end of the day. Or, if you prefer, she will get a modifier of +4 or so with regards to Comfort Checks. Maybe even a +5 if she has a Teddy Bear Shaman Hoodie. 🙂

        • Love the Teddy Bear Shaman Hoodie comment. Though I’d rather her have +4 for range so she can watch others from a safe far distance, and perhaps +5 to break through Shadowmeld so she can see her opponents for their true intentions. But that’s just me.

          • I have another friend who wears a Teddy Bear Shaman Hoodie. Range and Insight are good skills to add bonus modifiers to, but if we borrow the White Wolf system having 4-5 dots in Allies and Auspex can work too.

  1. Well written… I also love the song. I have not heard Enigma in a long time… 🙂

  2. Love that song too! Thanks for making me think of it. You’re written piece was so heartfelt and genuine. Brought slight tears of beauty to my eyes. Well done!

    • It is very personal for me since she means so much – I consider her family. I’m surprised the third stanza made the most impact since I wrote it without editing, but rereading it now, I can see why 🙂

  3. Your poetry is very clear and concise and neat: like a shard of crystal. Then there are those facets of ambiguity. I have yet to listen to the music you post however. It just makes me aware of the fact that I write poetry very differently–and rarely–but you know … I might just do that one day on my Blog … just to see what the response might be. Also, poetry is read differently from prose. That might also get a mention as well in the near future. 🙂

  4. Ah! 🙂 This sounds like a friend being there no matter what – true friendship as it really should be! Sadly a lot of people find their friends aren’t so dedicated after all, when they stray, so do their friends. 😦

    I love the Enigma – Return To Innocence! Some thought provoking words in there. I don’t often listen to Enigma, as I found all their other music to be very repetitive after a while, but when I hear it like this – a one off, it’s good to reminded of it, and how much I liked it at the time of release. As you get older you need reminding of these things, because you really do start to forget about some stuff!! 😀

    • The friendship we have is indescribable and I would do anything for her – she’s that special.

      As for Enigma, this is the only song I have ever heard from them and have yet to venture into any of their other stuff. Lately I have just been listening to songs that I have made an impact on me when I was younger since I have not enjoyed any new songs lately 🙂

  5. A beautiful sentiment and wonderful ending, for a very lucky friend me thinks. We should all be so lucky, only….
    you are so rare, and if all were so lucky then what of appreciation?
    Best to stay so perfectly special I say…
    You are “Francium” my dear, or better still “Neodymium” because you are so magnetic 😉

    lol – sorry, it’s been a long and somewhat weird day for me

  6. Enigma…well…good choice actually, and nice to hear again….the angel theme seems to be there somewhere…you write evocatively 🙂

  7. Lovely poem and the video a lovely memory for me – loved that song when it came out in ’94 – overplayed on the radio and then adverts has spoiled it a bit, but enjoyed this version emphasising the words. 🙂

    • I don’t remember how I came across the song when I was younger, but I know I would have this song on repeat and never got tired of it. It was different from the normal pop or rock that would play so it was refreshing. I always thought it had an Indian flair, but turns out it is Taiwanese. Didn’t find out until recently so my imaginary dance I created in my head changed because of it, lol.

And the wind whispers...

