279 ~ Assembly Required

You come to me
Disassembled
When my soul was left
Just dismembered

I lay out the plans
To piece us together
Instructions are foreign
Diagrams are no better

So much bubble wrap
So many parts
Too many fragments
To complete one full heart

The holes aren’t aligned
So I strip the bolts
Forget to check the lights
And how many volts

Still I keep trying
Think I’m getting ahead
Saw a flicker of hope
Now it’s just dead

β™₯

I wanted to mean everything to you
but this isn’t right

You keep coming back disassembled
and I keep losing this fight

Photo Credit: Hisomu

33 thoughts on “279 ~ Assembly Required

    • Thank you, it was what I was aiming for. I was inspired by a new table lamp I bought (thing was a nightmare to put together!), and in remembrance of failed relationships in which, no matter how hard one would attempt at making it work, the pieces didn’t all fit.

    • I would have posted this poem sooner, but with my computer and laptop issues as of late, it has been difficult to put a post together. The picture was the worst! I couldn’t find one that I was content with tying into the poetry and music, but finally found one, yay! lol.

  1. A really great poem! πŸ™‚ And is a good comparison to assembling items you bought for the home, and trying to hold a relationship together, they are very similar in many ways, and cause the same kind of frustrations, and eventually some very similar ***#*?**!!! swearing! πŸ˜†

  2. When I read this it sounded like a guy came to you not really knowing who he was and you just having a broken heart, now had to try to put you and him together. That’s a lot of work for one brokenhearted girl.

  3. i understand your feeling, so hard to revive a broken heart. think we would be good friends if i lived in the states. good luck angel

  4. A beautiful portrayal of the efforts and struggle people go to in the name of love and with all good will and intentions how sometimes, sadly, the realisation that there is nothing more you can do is the hardest part of the truth. That bitter pill to swallow.

    Like in “The Mexican” though, we hope to know the answer to the question:
    “If two people love each other, but they just can’t seem to get it together, when do you get to that point of enough is enough?”

    “Never”

    Only our hearts can answer honestly, but do we listen? Can we even hear them? Sometimes the guilty truth is that as an act of self-preservation we ignore our hearts and listen to our rationale, our logic, our common sense. And sometimes it’s true that this is for the best. But forget not your heart, commune with it, so that when it beats true it is as comforting and familiar to you as the tick of the clock on your bedroom wall.

    • When I was in high school, a girl once told me, “Alvin and I love each other very much. But it wasn’t enough, we could just never get it to work.” I never fully understood what she meant until years later.

      Never saw the Mexican, though that quote is stirring my curiosity to watch it.

And the wind whispers...

