255 ~ Lost

I don’t know where to start
And that’s a good feeling
Bless my heart
I’m lost, I’m reeling

Fishing to find
What I’ve misplaced
So I set foot
The steps I retrace

Beautiful wilderness
River, how you make me
Shiver when you undress
Bewilder and break me

Cupping my hands
To drink you in
An insatiable desire
Of moisture against skin

Taste, drink, swallow
Ignorance, life’s cocktail
Rising to the head tomorrow
Knowledge leaves a trail

Of breadcrumbs
In this drawn-out quest
To rediscover oneself
Or get washed like the rest

~

So Aka Teraka had this wonderful idea of doing a duet together. It is my first time working on a poem with someone, and I am honored to have had the opportunity to join two minds together. A week-long project in the making, but here is the completed work. β™₯

Β One more day like this
Could change everything that we
Ever thought would keep these days

down_by_the_river_by_frankenwah-d393x0xWe’re always in and out of everything
I feel like someone is turning tricks on me
And we’re losing our grip

Photo Credit: Frakenwah

34 thoughts on “255 ~ Lost

  1. Pingback: LOST « Aka Teraka

      • LOL πŸ™‚ It’s all one flow. You finished the poem with a lovely verse too that just quietly felt like the end.

  2. Cannot believe the post I just wrote (such crap) and your opening stanza….your poem, well, on the same wavelength tonight, except you make sense and I don’t….thanks Britt, as ever.

  3. I like this one a lot, especially that line Beautiful wilderness, River how you make me Shiver when you undress Bewilder and break me. I wonder who or what you are referring to here…

  4. That’s a great idea to do a poem together! Sounds a little complicated, how did you do it?

    I like the bit about the trail of breadcrumbs! πŸ™‚ That was one of my favourite fairytale stories when I was a child, had it on a record. About a Prince and Princess going to be murdered in the forest,by their evil uncle who wanted to be king, by making them get lost. But I can’t remember what it was called now! There is definitely the need to follow those bread crumbs sometimes, to make sure we find our way back! πŸ˜€

    • It was smooth sailing actually. Perhaps because we think alike? He asked me via email. I said yes. He sent me a stanza and we took turns writing one each.

      I was hinting along the lines of old school Hansel and Gretel. It didn’t follow the story of the Prince and Princess but if you look up the names, you’ll find out the story πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: There is no I in Team… | My Rabbit Hole Trips

And the wind whispers...

