235 ~ Coffin Hearts

I bear this shield
To keep you out
To reflect the pain
To absorb all doubt

As I keep holding
It forms a shell
Like hardening clay
Cast like a spell

So wise, I thought
To focus on the wall
I neglect to see
The err of it all

While growing strong
This protective skin
I found I grew weaker
From within

β™₯

If you’re still breathing, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs.
soother_or_smother_by_illusionwaltz-d4ek0oxAnd if you’re still bleeding, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of our feelings, they are dead and they are gone.

Photo Credit: illusionwaltz

*Inspiration for this post, a quote by C.S. Lewis: “Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.”

65 thoughts on “235 ~ Coffin Hearts

      • Sorry but I have to disagree here. Lewis is right – the only way is to remain on broken he’s to hide yourself from the world. I’ve discovered that without knowing and I can tell you it works. But then again it’s like Dickens said in Great Expectations: to love Is to give your soul to the one who will rip it apart. Hard choice to make if you ask me…

  1. Mm…very interesting this one! So true! I think I did that for a while, focussed on the wall. And shields are OK if only temporary – but they rarely are. It feels sometimes, that once you get used to holding a shield, you can’t live without it. I’m not sure I’ve even put mine down yet!

    And that C.S. Lewis quote is just quite amazing! I think I’m going to read that one over a few more times!! And the song – so perfect for this poem! πŸ˜€

    • They rarely are. Once we hold a shield, we hide behind them because we are afraid of getting hurt again. They become a part of us, like a favorite accessory we can’t leave the house without.

      I saw that quote and fell in love with it. Had been meaning to do a reflective piece on it but the words wouldn’t come until now.

  2. CS Lewis…what a complicated guy….classicist, Christian moralist, writer of Narnia of course. Great thinker, but not sure if he gets stuff right, not really. Love his books all the same (and he has written heaps). Good song. Coffin story, we are somehow intersecting, but well, yours made me smile Britt, really!

  3. great poem

    ~

    definitely

    times and places

    to protect

    one’s heart

    ~

    the experience

    of life

    teaches us

    to know when

    ~

    some cal it wisdom

      • i think i grow temporary heavy duty ones and then wear it out and in time i begin shedding it bit by bit again. then i either have to put it back on or i’ll just find someone that will let me retire it πŸ™‚ i’ve been trying to chip away at yours :). picture me with a tiny chisel and hammer.

  4. Have you ever thought about putting out a compilation book? You have a lot of beautiful poetry! Then I’ll point at the book in the store and say really loud “Hey! I talk to her on her blog! She’s awesome!” – πŸ˜€ !

    • People have asked me this, but no, I just recently started airing poetry at the beginning of this year for this project so I never thought it would have been well accepted until now. I have written before, years ago, but not on a scale such as this. Thank you Rachie, it is food for thought and I may get around to embarking on that adventure. xx

And the wind whispers...

