230 ~ A Requiem of Flames

There are things I’d like to tell you
That I keep under lock and key
For they could mean nothing to you
But mean everything to me

In the chance the words can injure
I won’t share them with anyone else
So I’ll bury them deep inside my heart
Where it can only hurt myself

For everyone has an Achilles’ heel
And I am cursed with two
I’m vulnerable to everything you say
And everything that you do

But if you are to find your Helen
Amidst this sea of games
I will secure the walls of Troy myself
Just to watch it dance in flames

Write a song
Make a note
For the lump that sits inside your throat

hide_your_face_behind_the_mask_by_silent_visions-d5le4edChange the locks, change the scene
Change it all but can’t change what we’ve been
Your trojan’s in my head

Photo Credit: silent-visions

39 thoughts on “230 ~ A Requiem of Flames

  1. Helen of Troy…good idea. Works well too…like the last stanza, simple and punchy. Thank you again.

  2. wow… I think this might b one of my favorite you’ve have ever done. It’s flows so smooth for something bearing such sensitive skin. and the ending…oh my, you are just too good at this ^_^

    • I am surprised my feelings have been accepted as it has been. I write what I feel and sometimes I will question whether or not I should publish a post because they are a part of me. Like writing myself raw for others to see without the mask of anonymity. Thank you J.

  3. Love – “I will secure the walls of Troy myself
    Just to watch it dance in flames”. And I agree, one of your best ones for sure.

  4. This lines are brilliant:
    “For everyone has an Achilles’ heel
    And I am cursed with two
    I’m vulnerable to everything you say
    And everything that you do”

    And so painful at the same time…

  5. Some things are best kept under lock and key, especially from the ears of certain people. But often I find things have been shared with not the best person to share it with – but it’s loo late! 😦

    Apologies for being so late! Can’t believe I’ve missed ‘three’ of your posts! Have that many days gone by or are you now ahead of yourself? The loss of time is shocking sometimes – and of course it’s never me, always something up with the universe and the time continuum! 😉

    • Hard to trust some people with words… or your heart 😉 And it is usually the case with sharing things, so I tend to only do so with a few or not at all.

      With all the viruses going around and disruptive sleep patterns, my only concern is that you are well. The hours blink by so fast! We need to tell the keeper of time to slow things down a bit. I’m missing out on so much! lol.

And the wind whispers...

