215 ~ Moth

People often mistake the reason
For why moths are drawn to a flame
They believe attraction draws them there
Like the way you say my name

But nocturnal insects use celestial light
For navigating in the dark
Similar to a compass guiding the way
To the North Star of my heart

As I try to maintain a constant angle
In order to stay true to flight
I will suddenly lose my way
As you become my source of the night

For you were never a soft sweet lullaby
But my full blown anthem torch
As I am disoriented by your flames
It is my body that you shall scorch

♥

In this moment that we both ignore the truth
It’s all over, it’s all over

Catastrophic_Plan_by_Maru_LightI feel your heart against mine
So take a breath and close your eyes

Photo Credit: Maru-Light

*Inspired by Justin and his post on rosy moths ^_^. Here’s my take on the subject of moths & flames. You should google it. Some interesting facts to be found there.

22 thoughts on “215 ~ Moth

  1. like a moth to a flame… I love this one. I love how you take these very different subjects and help them to make sense in the context of your work, life and love. the imagery is beautiful I’d love to paint it.

  2. Pingback: I like Sunflowers almost As much as Daisies… it’s like SUNSHINE | My Rabbit Hole Trips

  3. If your going to follow a flame – it better be the right one, otherwise you get fried in the heat!! 😦

    Interesting what you said about moths and light, I’ve never looked that up. Did you read a lot about it before you wrote this? I don’t much like moths, but I hate to see them get confused over a light bulb or knock themselves right out on one! 🙂

  4. hey woman ^_^, I just switched to a self-hosted domain, so if you want my blog to still show up in your reader through WordPress.com you need to go to your reader and click Edit List next to Blogs I Follow, and add robertmudge.net. thank you. i don’t want to lose you as a reader or a follower 🙂

And the wind whispers...

