181 ~ Fade

Looking back at it all now
It doesn’t seem to make any sense
How one could love someone so terrible
With a fever so immense

Wishing one day for a cure
To stop the tears that would commence
At every heartless thing you can do
How you keep me on that fence

When I write, I mean to drown you
Gallons of ink at my defense
Waiting to see the ending chapter
To sort the real amidst the pretense

It has taken me quite a long way
The sequels climax with suspense
But your pages are now fading
In past, present and future tense

β™₯

Pictures of you, pictures of me
Hung upon your wall for the world to see

blurPictures of you, pictures of me
Remind us all of what we could have been

20 thoughts on “181 ~ Fade

  1. I wonder every now and then if I ever had a last chapter…or if the story simply stopped, like some terrible cliff hanger ending.

    Lovely. Happy 4th to you πŸ˜‰

  2. “When I write, I mean to drown you
    Gallons of ink at my defense
    Waiting to see the ending chapter
    To sort the real amidst the pretense”
    I think these are my favourite lines, they really stand out to me! It’s amazing how many people use writing to work something out of their mind, and I think that’s what got me into it more – a mother dying – a boyfriend turning out fake, I think I needed to write bits of it out of my head. I used to keep a diary, but I don’t want to see it written in a diary any more, I’d prefer to make something creative. And of course sharing and reading other writers pain and thoughts, makes it so much better – why hide it in a closed book!!? πŸ˜€

    • Writing for me has always been a way to release. Work things out as you say, because keeping them bottled in just made them a more permanent torturing fixture in my head. I’ve had many diaries, so it is nice now that I have stopped writing privately and started posting them for everyone to see. The words, these confessions, are all spilled from my heart so it is wonderful to see it all in print and to see others reactions or how another can relate.

      Though these were written when I felt like I couldn’t share them yet. There will be many more posts like this in the future, but I’m releasing them a bit at a time πŸ˜›

  3. Awesome poem Brit! I feel like I disappeared, when moving from New Jersey to Georgia last month! Thought it would be a lot better healthwise for my MS and Fibromyalgia, and other things,and yet the humidity here is playing havoc with the nerve damage in my body! I have not forgotten you, and have missed your poems! You still have that golden touch I see! I am trying to spend at least 2 hours a day now while building up my strength. I always enjoy your poems! Hugs and blessings!

    • Oh Wendell, I had no idea you were going through all this pain. I had been wondering where on Earth you had gone off too! But I’m glad to hear you are working on your recovery. Your words, poems and encouragement have been missed as well. Hugs and blessings to you, my brother. β™₯

And the wind whispers...

