171 ~ Lead

Take my hand;
I want to lead you
To where the waters
Are cold and deep

Much like our hearts

Rippling like the current waves
Diffused and shaking
Blue and dark
Vast yet fragile

Take my hand;
As I tie these anchors
Around your ankles
I want to watch you sink

Much like my heart

Pulling down with gravity
Confused and rapid
Blood shot eyes
Wet yet dry

Take my hand;
As I slowly let go
Saying goodbye
As I witness you going under

β™₯

Here I am waiting, I’ll have to leave soon
Why am I holding on?Chibi BatmanWe knew this day would come, we knew it all along
How did it come so fast?

*Photo from this morning. Got this super cute sleeping tee yesterday with Jp.

40 thoughts on “171 ~ Lead

  1. This is an excellent poem!!β™₯β™₯β™₯ Very dark though, excellently dark, especially the finishing line (as I witness you going under) but I know what you mean! πŸ˜‰

  2. Love the t-shirt. I love the sentiment in the poem…just wish I could let go! The Maroon 5 song made me think “if I could just have one last night” And I was like geez one last night would lead to another and another. I know better! lol Tell Ted to stop looking up your shirt or he will have to answer to your twin! πŸ™‚

  3. You can drown me anyday….poems need a bit of edge, and you bring out that metal sometimes….I like that, as you know – and as I started reading the poem, I was hoping for some kind of twist at the end….and got it, though death by drowning is something I do not like the thought of (in fact one of my nightmares was being stuck in a water filled cave with only a tiny bit of air at the top, and nothing to hold on to, and no hope of rescue). Well, thanks!

  4. Your words alway have so much value because they always share what is real and true inside your heart! When I was ill, and could not visit many of the blogs that I love to read! It really became a downer, and when I was able to begin again…I really saw what had become a wonderful part of my day all the time. Never stop sharing the genuine words from your heart, you are always needed. Blessings!

    • Wendell, your strength and words are a blessing. I am glad I made an impact on your life, as you do mine. I will do my best for the next few months while this project is in fruition.

And the wind whispers...

