139 ~ the Song of the Sparrow

When the world closes its’ eyes
And the lights fade out
The sparrow flies to me
To flutter away the doubt

Her voice emanate rays of sun
Dissolving shadows from within
Her strength becomes my strength
Hope and freedom underneath her wing

Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
When they settle underneath your skin

walk the sunMaybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

*This post is dedicated to Lindsay. I was having a shitastic day yesterday, and she sent me pictures and a poem to help me get through it. We sometimes forget how a simple act of kindness can make a difference, even if that act comes from 2,700 miles away, across many state lines. So this is a poem and song for her. Thank you for being such a rock and for all the laughs. A unicorn post will be coming up soon!

26 thoughts on “139 ~ the Song of the Sparrow

  1. Aahh – that’s really beautiful!!!!♥ Such a hopeful poem and goes so well with your picture! 🙂 And do you know, that song has been following me about for weeks now, mainly in You Tube videos – so it’s good that I love it, it’s such a positive song!

    I love the reference to the shitastic day! That’s a very good way to describe a bad day, I shall remember that one – my description normally includes an F word, but perhaps not so suitable for the blog!!! 😀

    I think we’ve done it again Britt with our similar themes, and you got there before me! My last post was going to be about dreaming of being a bird, and I have a recording of my voice reading it too! But I changed my mind the day before because I didn’t want to do a rush job on opening a Soundcloud account and uploading and sharing back to the blog and it all going wrong! So hopefully I’ll get it posted next time, but if not, you’ll know something has gone wrong or I’ve chickened out of posting my recording!!

    A unicorn post? I’m intrigued! 😀

    • I just heard it a little before Katy Perry’s Roar song. 😀 And thank you Suzy.

      I have never seen you use the F word… ever. LOL.

      What?! I want to hear you SoundCloud! I hope you follow through with it, and let me know when you do because sometimes WordPress does not always alert me.

      It’ll be on post 138 😀

  2. I’m so sorry it took me so long to get on here and reply to this. Britt, this was the perfect thing for that day. When I read this, I had a smile on my face for the day and felt super special. Love you girl!

  3. Pingback: 57 ~ Friends and Poetry | Fairytale Epidemic

And the wind whispers...

