136 ~ Keep your head in the clouds, and your feet on the ground.

088Los Liones to Parker Mesa. I’ve been dying to do this hike, and it was worth the wait. Jp took this photo and said,  “it looks like you’re a video game character, ready to parachute off into the clouds.” ♥

~

007

I couldn’t ask for a more perfect day, than today. Although my brother bailed on us, so we were left to fend for ourselves on this new trail. Not going to lie, I did lead Jp down the wrong path on our way back. Sorry boo!

023

Why I love hiking early before the sun rises. Not only because it’s summertime and the heat would deter us, but because you start your trail seeing views like this.

064

The paths started out gorgeous, and there were a lot of flowers and lush green scenery. I whispered to Jp, “looks like the Smurfs would live here.” ^_^

123

We decided to continue on to Parker Mesa, and were wondering why lots of people just stopped at Los Liones.

184

It’s probably because the second part was all fire road… with lots of fire ants! This part seriously kicked my butt. Very little shade and a lot of uphill walking. I said to Jp, “Who would ever say, oh! Fire road, I want to do that!” To which Jp responded, “uhm, you did.” -_- Point taken.

190

But we made it to the Parker Mesa overlook! There was a lot of heavy marine layer, but this whole hike was surreal. Like walking through a different world full of blue skies and pillow-y marshmallow clouds. I was enjoying every minute of it (minus the fire road).

lol

I decided to pack us some lemon chicken pasta for our little picnic instead of our regular sandwiches. Bad idea. Jp dropped her fork and looked like the saddest panda on the planet, so I finished my pasta and washed my fork for her. The funniest moment from this hike! Well every moment with Jp and me is hilarious.

222

Taking a break on the way back. It’s funny how I took like 220+ photos, and at first we’re all smiles, and towards the end we just look flippin’ tired. The hike was supposed to be like 7.3 miles, but we finished closer to 11 since I wanted to check out a short cut that would be easier, but ended up adding time and miles to this hike. Whoops! >_<

*On a side note, I want to thank Jp for the new awesome header photo and |{3ÑZ!3 for the idea. He mentioned the Greek Goddess Sophrosyne in a comment and the ideas that followed resonated well with me, and so onto the header it goes.

In latin:

orandum est ut sit mens sana in corpore sano.
tranquillae per virtutem patet unica vitae.

Translated it says:

You should pray for a healthy mind in a healthy body.
For assuredly, the only road to a life of peace is virtue.

24 thoughts on “136 ~ Keep your head in the clouds, and your feet on the ground.

  1. “marine layer”. 🙂 Could only be from LAish using a term like that. 😉 ~ Beautiful post. “the saddest panda on the planet” Haha! Love that. ~ Bill

  2. Loved the hike. And I only looked like a sad panda cause I was afraid you were going to yell at me for dropping my fork.

    Lets go again 🙂

  3. Wow…what fun! Your friendship with JP always reminds me of mine with my best friend – so special. Fire ants – I could do without them, thank you very much. And you must have read my mind because I was going to ask you about the latin. Wonderful words xoxo

  4. I know what you mean about very early mornings the light is very magical at that time of morning. It’s that sunrise, sunset thing, the best two parts of the day! 🙂

    Your lunch sounds nice! Pity about the fork – cutlery has a habit of ending up where it shouldn’t on picnics, and everything else as well! 😐

    I love your new header!!! It fits the new you, the travelling girl – seeking out the new! 😀

    • Haven’t had the guts to do a sunset hike yet. The light plays tricks on the mind when the sun goes down and I’m not ready for that challenge!

      Jp is just a little accident prone when it comes to eating. >_<

      Thank you Suzy, it marks the turn of events in my life. I hope it stays there for awhile.

And the wind whispers...

