78 ~ Sticks and Stones

Lovies, keep your voice soft
Words trailing out as sweet
Because you never know if
They’ll be words that you’ll eat

~

I don’t think some people realize how much their words may hurt those close to them. Even if this person is considered a strong individual, they are still human and can only take so much. Cherish and take care of those that love you whether they are friends, family, lovers. Sooner or later they’ll stop asking why you keep hurting them and start questioning why they still allow it.

14 thoughts on “78 ~ Sticks and Stones

  1. “Cherish and take care of those that love you whether they are friends, family, lovers. Sooner or later they’ll stop asking why you keep hurting them and start questioning why they still allow it.” This is so true, and by that time, it may be too late to say “Sorry.”

  2. Very well said! 🙂 Words have a habit of making us eat them! Words are a lot more powerful than a lot people realise. It’s interesting, but since I’ve been communicating on the internet in text, I’ve been even more concious of how I say certain things, because you never know how something may come across to someone else, I’ve often edited and re-edited what I was going to say – I’m very fussy over words!

    I think the most abuse in words is within families, sad really, the very people we don’t want to hurt. But I suppose familiarity creates an unreal confidence, and we forget how we are speaking, or assume all will be forgiven. It’s odd how we can end up being more polite to complete strangers than our own family – something really wrong about that!! 🙂

    • They are! Whoever said the “words will never hurt me” rhyme must not have met someone who is murderous in their vocabulary. I’m the same way with the editing on the internet bit. It’s even harder to communicate via print so words must be chosen carefully.

      I think it depends on the person, and the person who hurt me the most recently was a friend. A best friend actually, and it kept on happening even when we talked about it. We’re still trying to work things out, but “I’m sorry” isn’t cutting it anymore. False accusations do not fly well with me.

And the wind whispers...

