20 ~ Tired

There are some days when a strange sadness creeps in.

One that does not flood you with tears but drains you deep, emotionally.

One that does not break your heart but numbs your nerves that you question if it still exists, but you know it does because you can hear your pulse beating.

One that does not make you quiet but brings out a beautiful loud laughter that people stare in awe, a laughter that creates an adhesive in your bones as a form of self-preservation to keep you from falling apart.

If only they knew.

There are some days when a strange sadness creeps in. One that can’t be explained or too costly to. One that can only be answered with, “I’m tired.”

30 thoughts on “20 ~ Tired

      • I relate. The weather has just about killed me. I’m coming down with something after being out Monday in the post-snowy nastiness. I’ve been sneezing like an insane person, and I cannot seem to get enough sleep. I just want quality rest and a LOT of chicken soup.

        • Aww *hugs* The weather has been a bit nasty. I’ve been fighting a cold that hasn’t really taken hold of me yet and my immune system hasn’t been on the ups as of late. 😦 I hope you find some quality rest soon and I wish you lived close enough so I could drop off some homemade soup. Take care Li. xx

          • Increase your vitamin B12 intake when you feel the start of a cold trying to make it’s way in. Between that and extra Vitamin C, you will keep it at bay.

            Homemade soup is always appreciated. πŸ™‚ It’s one of my big comfort foods, year-round.

            • My dad gave me some vegetarian/vegan B12. It sits on my desk and I forget to take it. >_< Whoops!

              And yes, homemade soup is the best. Speaking of which, I need to make some more. I love a big bowl of warm lemon cabbage chicken soup with egg noodles. Yum! xx

              • I actually bought the wrong type of B12 the last time I replaced it, so I have to take three times as many, but it does the job. That will force me to pay attention next time, I was in a rush and grabbed the first bottle I saw with the high tablet count. We’ll pretend it was a blonde moment, even though I am a brunette. LOL.

                I’ve never had lemon cabbage chicken soup. I’m kind of traditional where chicken soup is concerned, I use my Mom’s recipe which is three or four generations old. It’s amazing. The vegetable soup is my favorite though. I make so much of it that I end up having to freeze it because I don’t have anyone to share it with. My brother is not a soup person like I am, and when he is, he’s usually wanting me to make tortilla soup. It’s so easy to make and he thinks it’s awesome, which is a nice compliment. It’s hard to screw that one up. Some soups take more patience than others. The vegetable soup is a many hours long process. Several years ago I started putting together a family recipe book to preserve my mother’s and grandmother’s recipes, as well as my own. I think that’s an awesome thing to do when you know how to cook, it helps keep things in the family, etc. It’s a nice thing to share as well. πŸ™‚

                • Oh! That’s a lovely idea with the family recipe book. I really should start logging my recipes somewhere. As for the lemon cabbage chicken soup, it was just something I made up one night and have loved it ever since. It’s comforting and has all my favorite vegetables in it. I’ve never made a tortilla soup – always bought them. Not sure why I haven’t tried to make it on my own, lol.

                  • I decided to do it after my Mom passed away, because she never wrote anything down. Every recipe was in her head. I want to make sure they get passed down, so I’m putting all of them together for my brother & I to be able to share with the next generation. I think it’s one of my better ideas, really.

                    Tortilla soup literally takes about 30 minutes to make. I have a recipe you’d probably like and you can literally just put whatever you want into it, be it extra veggies, chicken, avocado, etc. It’s the only soup I make that my brother thinks is 100% awesome, and that is because he’s a nut for Mexican food.

  1. I think that’s an excellent piece of prose Britt, you’ve described it so beautifully!β™₯ Tiredness can come in many forms and the cause isn’t always a lack of sleep. Although sometimes the two go together. I’ve been feeling a bit like this too. Perhaps it’s End Of the Year Syndrome? I find the best thing to hang on to when feeling like this, is to remember all the other times in your life when you have felt the same – and know that it always passes. It’s good that everything in life is temporary, because that means the bad things as well! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Suzy. And yes, tiredness can come in many forms. Are you still having problems sleeping lovie? 😦 It seems like its’ been quite some time. End of the Year Syndrome also known as EYS, lol. Love it. πŸ˜†

      That is why I’m glad I started this project – to be able to look back and see all the good times and bad and know that this too shall pass, much like everything else. ^_^

      • Oh yes, my sleep problems are very on and off! But it doesn’t bother me too much these days. Had a mega busy day yesterday (25th) lots of eating and conversation with family, I was so tired at the end of the day, I went to bed early, and didn’t wake up for nine hours. 😯 I rarely go to bed early and never sleep for that many hours, I think I was making up for any sleep lost the previous month!! πŸ˜€

And the wind whispers...

