To Break the Ice

If my tears were to be just droplets
That could not make your oceans spill
Then let the ice spread from your chest
Until our eyes were frosted, until
Your heart has left my hand frozen
So I’ll set it against your chin
Let the tears warm up my thumb
To ward off the numbness setting in
I wanted to see your chest rise and fall
As it did before the hurt came
But now it does not move at all
And there is no one else to blame
I have cherished you for a lifetime
Now the bitterness is sinking in
Knew your eyes before they were cold
Now the frost has blurred my vision
And as my fingers begin to tingle
I wish I could trace the lines
The silhouette of your precious chin
The face I used to call, mine

frozen_love_by_berkozturk-d3c4qn2

 

Photo Credit: berkozturk

This is a collaboration piece I did recently with my pen pal, Luke Pinno. They’re mainly his words and emotions; I just offered up some edits. It was a topic that was easy to work on since I used to feel like this once – a long time ago. The most beautiful thing I enjoy about writing is that it connects people, no matter what part of the world you’re from.

And as I’m writing this, I’m listening to this song from Ingrid Michaelson and singing along, “All the broken hearts in the world still beat, let’s not make it harder than it has to be. I got two hands, one beating heart. and I’ll be all right. I’m gonna be all right.” ♥

31 thoughts on “To Break the Ice

  1. Weirdly I was just thinking of you today. Today is National Unicorn Appreciation day which reminded me of you. Excellent poem, you both did a great job — if I wasn’t feeling cold before I am now.

  2. Heya I found your blog again. I am moved to www dot matthewisgrand dot wordpress dot com from www do matthewofexeter dot wordpress dot com. I hope you are doing ok. I am amalgamating different things now. Blessed be thy soul x

    • Thank you. It is a bit somber, but writing tends to help some people. Writing was an outlet for me and it was nice to be able to empathize with someone I hadn’t met just yet. Connection is a very powerful thing 🙂 .

  3. It is a beautiful poem B! I am just getting over quite a few MS episodes! I missed this one, but with the weather changing I am starting to feel better! Always very nice to read one of your poems my sister! Have a beautiful and amazing week ahead!

    • I’m glad you’re starting to feel better my dear brother. I hope the MS episodes didn’t keep you much from experiencing life and love. I’m so sorry this message came so late but I hope you are having a beautiful memorial weekend. Stay safe & stay well. ♥ Many blessings to you.

    • Dear Lord… happy super belated Easter to you. Didn’t think I’d get so many comments from being in hiding for so long :/ . But you have been in my thoughts and prayers.

And the wind whispers...

